Why are Prius owners the worst drivers in Japan?

I notice this again and again, and often are growling at the crap driving before I even see what car it is, so it’s not some kind of prejudice.

My theory is that the car simply attracts holier-than-thou types who think they have even more an entitlement because they have a green car. It’s certainly not due to actual concern for the environment that the Prius has become a bestselling car in Japan, that’s for sure. It actually seems to be more some kind of showing off, though I can’t quite work out how or why.

2 Comments

  1. crella said,

    August 14, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    ‘My theory is that the car simply attracts holier-than-thou types ‘

    Well, that’s why the Prius is sarcastically called ‘the Pious’ in some parts of the US (California and Washington state specifically).

    One other car that I watch out for is the March. It’s sold to students and really bad elderly drivers like my MIL, I guess as a safety measure as it’s likely smaller that what they were driving….but I have seen some March drivers seemingly flouting the laws of physics (;-D) as they weave along the roadways. I steer FAR clear of Marches. It’s a running joke with my son and I, he keeps watch and announces them, “Warning! March at 2 o’clock!” etc.

  2. Jeffrey said,

    October 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    If there is a scientific answer is probably can be used to explain why Saturn owners are the worst drivers in the States.

    I’ve never heard a Prius called a Pious in Washington.


Leave a Reply

