Why would the Japanese think I’ve Never Been to Me is a suitable song for weddings?

Rather unusually for Wikipedia, the page on this song jokes that its story of a bitter party girl who wishes she’d had a family instead could reassure the bride she’d made the right choice in tying the knot. Luckily, it also has the more sensible explanation that the Japanese song with that tune has much more romantic message. I’m guessing nobody who chooses it has noticed its presence in Priscilla Queen of the Desert then…

3 Comments

  1. crella said,

    February 21, 2012 at 3:34 am

    It seems to me that the songs are chosen much more for melody than content. I went to a wedding at the Hotel Okura in Kobe (read $$$$$) a couple of years back where the bride and groom came back into the room from a clothing change to the tune of Disney’s ‘Beauty and the Beast’. I almost choked….’My Way’ is another one you hear a lot at weddings, don’t ask me why. The Japanese version must be different (but I can’t recall the lyrics). A taxi driver who took DH and I home after dinner out last Saturday evening put ‘I’ve Never Been To Me’ on because it’s part of his English song collection.That much tacky in a small space was an odd note on which to end an evening. It’s most likely melody over content.

  2. crella said,

    February 21, 2012 at 3:46 am

    I just listened to the Japanese version, although the English is a bit fractured, the meaning of the song is totally different.

  3. Lillian said,

    February 23, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Yeah, the Japanese version of the lyrics explains it, I think.

    What I want to know is why some American geeks think it’s reasonable to use the Imperial March or the One Ring at their weddings. Talk about bad symbolism.


Leave a Reply

